Please use the tabs below to select view more information regarding each of our discs

Rule of Thumb - Highly Strung Front CoverHighly Strung

On this cottage project CD, Rule of Thumb sing and play guitar, bouzouki, cittern and banjo.

Tracks 1,2,4,5,6,7,13 and 14 are culled from the tradition. We hereby thank the following artists whose work we have, frankly, pinched - albeit with love and respect - and acknowledge Pete St John for track 3, Richard Thompson for track 8, Richard Thompson and Dave Swarbrick for tract 9, Dave Kenningham and/or Jimmy MacCarthy for track 10, Steve Tilson for track 11 and Sandy Denny for track 15.

Rob Bartlett wrote track 12 and wishes well to anyone who might care to pinch it!.

Track Listing

  1. Hard Times of Old England
  2. Johnny I Hardly Knew Ya
  3. Rare Old Times
  4. Seven Yellow Gypsies
  5. Star of the County Down
  6. Whiskey in the Jar
  7. Arthur McBride and the Sergeant
  8. We'll Sing Hallelujah
  9. Crazy Man Michael
  10. Ride On
  11. Slip Jigs and Reels
  12. The Flash Mob
  13. The Jolly Soldier
  14. Martin said to his Man
  15. Who Knows Where the Time Goes